Cricket News

The Top stars of T20 Cricket picked in Afghan Premier League 2018

The Top stars of T20 Cricket picked in Afghan Premier League 2018

As much debate was being done, whether ICC should allow more T20 leagues or not? This debate won’t stop for now, as another league is going to hit the calendar year. This year we have two or three new T20 leagues added to the calendar year, Global League T20 Canada, Afghan Premier League & Emirates T20 League. After a partly successful start of GLT20 Canada, now it’s time for another league, I am talking about Afghan Premier League T20.

The Draft of the APLT20 held last day, when teams Paktia, Nangarhar, Balkh, Kandahara, & Kabul were picked their players. The first pick of the APLT20 was Pakistan’s top all-rounder Shahid Afridi followed by Andre Russell (Nangarhar), Chris Gayle (Balkh) and Brendon McCullum (Kandahar) were among the big names picked by franchises in the Afghanistan Premier League draft. Kabul picked their national superstar Rashid Khan as their icon player.

APLT20 picked 34 overseas players in the draft who are set to be part of the inaugural edition of the league. The tournament scheduled between 5 October and 23 October at Sharjah Cricket Stadium, UAE.


Players from England

Ravi Bopara, Sam Billings, Chris Jordan, Luke Wright, Laurie Evans, Tymal Mills

Players from New Zealand

Luke Ronchi, Colin Munro, Mitchell McClenaghan

Players from Australia

Ben Cutting, Ben Laughlin

Players from Pakistan

Wahab Riaz, Sohail Tanveer, Mohammad Irfan, Faheem Ashraf, Iftikhar Ahmed, Kamran Akmal, Mohammad Hafeez

Players from South Africa

Colin Ingram, Wayne Parnell, Cameron Delport

Player from Sri Lanka

Thisara Perera

Players from Bangladesh

Tamim Iqbal, Mushfiqur Rahim

Player from Ireland

Paul Stirling

Players from the Associate nations

Ryan ten Doeschate (Netherlands)

Sandeep Lamichhane (Nepal)

Mohammad Naveed (UAE)

Calum McLeod (Scotland)


Mohammad Shahzad (Paktia), Mujeeb Ur Rahman (Nangarhar), Mohammad Nabi (Balkh) and Asghar Afghan (Kandahar) were also picked the teams respectively. Followed by other Afghan players, Karim Janat ( Kandahar), Javed Ahmadi (Kabul),  Gulbadin Naib (Balkh),  Najib Tarakai (Nangarhar),  Samiullah Shinwari (Paktia), Najib Zadran ( Kandahar), Farid Malik (Kabul), Aftab Alam (Balkh), Shafiqullah Shafaq (Nangarhar), Sharafuddin Ashraf (Paktia )

Add Comment

Click here to post a comment